spring rates by mcguiver3
Started on: 11-22-2016 07:53 AM
Replies: 15 (1274 views)
Last post by: fieroguru on 08-04-2022 07:01 AM
mcguiver3

Feedback score: N/A
Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2016 07:53 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mcguiver3Send a Private Message to mcguiver3Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Question for all of you autocrossers out there.
I have been playing with an 88 Formula for over 20 years now.
Autocrossing and a few track days.
The car is totaly striped out and many mods to engine and chassis.
I am currentlt running 300# rear and 250# front springs on custom coil over shocks.
Question is...... do I install 400# springs at the rear and move the 300# to the front?
Any thoughts?
IP: Logged
PFF
System Bot
Blacktree

Feedback score:    (12)
Leave feedback

Total ratings: 350
Rate this member

Report this Post11-22-2016 10:58 PM Click Here to See the Profile for BlacktreeClick Here to visit Blacktree's HomePageSend a Private Message to BlacktreeEdit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
I think it depends on whether you want to change the understeer / oversteer situation. The 300 lb front / 400 lb rear setup is going to give you more oversteer. A 350 lb front / 400 lb rear setup would be closer to the ratio you have now.

That said, the Fiero usually uses stiffer springs in front, because the control arms have more leverage against the suspension spring. Are you using custom front control arms, or do you just prefer to have more oversteer?
mcguiver3

Leave feedback

Rate this member

Report this Post11-23-2016 07:48 AM Click Here to See the Profile for mcguiver3Send a Private Message to mcguiver3Edit/Delete MessageReply w/QuoteDirect Link to This Post
Actually looking for a bit of oversteer. and to limit yaw.
The front sway bar is stock but the rear bar is a bit stiffer and has adjustability.
Was thinking about just the rear spring swap?
wftb

Feedback score: (4)
Leave feedback